Most selective colleges superscore the SAT: they add your best Reading and Writing score and your best Math score from different test dates. Of the 95 colleges in our list, 64 say so on their official admissions sites, including Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Penn, Yale, MIT, Stanford and Duke. Another 7 use only your best single test date, 5 are test-blind, and 19 don't state a policy.
Search the list below by college, superscore policy or testing policy. Then use the checker to see your superscore and which score each of your colleges would count. Every "Yes" and "No" links to the college's own admissions page; our team checked each one between October 29 and October 30, 2026, and we re-checked a sample on November 5, 2026.
"Not stated" means the college's admissions pages we checked don't say whether it superscores; ask the admissions office before you choose which scores to send. Tap a college's name for its full SAT and ACT profile: score ranges, testing policy and how to read them.
Showing 25 of 95 colleges.
| College | Superscores SAT | Superscores ACT | Testing policy | SAT middle 50% | Admit rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amherst College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1470–1540 | 7.7% |
| Arizona State University | Not stated | Not stated | Test-optional | Not reported | 88.4% |
| Barnard College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1480–1540 | 10.1% |
| Baylor University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1190–1370 | 52.2% |
| Binghamton University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1320–1480 | 37.3% |
| Boston College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1460–1520 | 16.2% |
| Boston University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1420–1510 | 12.8% |
| Bowdoin College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1470–1540 | 6.8% |
| Brown University | Yes | Yes | Required | 1470–1550 | 6.3% |
| California Institute of Technology | Yes | Yes | Required | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Carnegie Mellon University | Yes | No | Required (flexible) | 1500–1560 | 11.1% |
| Claremont McKenna College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1480–1540 | 9.4% |
| Clemson University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1250–1400 | 42.4% |
| Colby College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1430–1520 | 8% |
| Columbia University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1510–1560 | 4.9% |
| Cornell University | Yes | Yes | Required | 1490–1550 | 8.4% |
| Dartmouth College | Yes | Yes | Required | 1440–1550 | 6% |
| Davidson College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1410–1500 | 12.6% |
| Duke University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1510–1570 | 5.2% |
| Emory University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1480–1540 | 10.3% |
| Florida State University | Yes | Yes | Required | 1300–1410 | 23.8% |
| Fordham University | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1355–1470 | 47.2% |
| Georgetown University | No | No | Required | 1405–1530 | 13.5% |
| Georgia Institute of Technology | Yes | Yes | Required | 1370–1530 | 13.3% |
| Hamilton College | Yes | Yes | Test-optional | 1440–1510 | 13.6% |
A college that superscores takes your highest Reading and Writing score and your highest Math score from all the SAT test dates you send, and adds them into one total. Each section is scored from 200 to 800, so a superscore runs from 400 to 1600 like any SAT total (College Board, how scores are calculated).
| Reading and Writing | Math | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|
| March SAT | 650 | 640 | 1290 |
| June SAT | 610 | 700 | 1310 |
| Superscore | 650 (March) | 700 (June) | 1350 |
At a college that superscores, this student's SAT is a 1350. At a college that doesn't, it's a 1310, the best total from one day. That 40-point difference is why the policy matters when you plan a retake.
Colleges do the combining, not College Board. Your score report lists each test date separately, and each college applies its own policy to the scores you send. Our SAT superscore calculator shows which section to focus on for your next test.
Enter your section scores from each test date to see your superscore, your best single-date total, and which one each college on your list would use. Add up to 10 colleges to compare your score with each one's middle 50% range.
Enter your Reading and Writing and Math scores for each SAT you've taken (or a practice test score for a planned retake). Leave unused rows blank.
Six of the eight Ivy League schools say they superscore the SAT: Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Penn and Yale. Harvard's admissions pages don't state an SAT superscore policy. Princeton lets applicants use Score Choice for the SAT and says it does not superscore between the paper and digital tests, but it doesn't state a general superscore policy.
| School | Superscores SAT | Testing policy | SAT middle 50% |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brown University | Yes | Required | 1470–1550 |
| Columbia University | Yes | Test-optional | 1510–1560 |
| Cornell University | Yes | Required | 1490–1550 |
| Dartmouth College | Yes | Required | 1440–1550 |
| Harvard University | Not stated | Required | Not reported |
| University of Pennsylvania | Yes | Required | Not reported |
| Princeton University | Not stated | Test-optional | Not reported |
| Yale University | Yes | Required | 1480–1560 |
Several Ivies now require the SAT or ACT again, and Princeton says it will require scores starting with the 2027–28 application cycle. Check each school's current policy for your application year; our guide to getting into Ivy League schools covers the rest of the application.
7 colleges in our list say they don't superscore the SAT. They use your highest total from a single test date. Most are large public universities.
If one of these schools is your top choice, aim to put your best Reading and Writing and your best Math on the same day. That changes how you prepare: a retake should keep up both sections, not only the one you're trying to raise.
University of California - Berkeley, University of California - Davis, University of California - Irvine, University of California - Los Angeles, University of California - Santa Barbara are test-blind: they don't consider SAT or ACT scores in admission, so superscoring doesn't apply.
19 colleges in our list, including Harvard University, Princeton University, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor, University of Virginia, New York University, don't state an SAT superscore policy on the admissions pages we checked. Contact admissions, or send every test date that holds one of your best section scores so either policy works in your favor.
To be superscored, send every test date that holds one of your best section scores. A college can only combine scores it receives.
If most of your colleges superscore, a retake is low-risk: a weaker result doesn't lower your superscore, and a stronger section raises it. That lets you focus your preparation on one section for the next test.
Not sure whether to test again? How many times should you take the SAT? covers the trade-offs, and the SAT study plan builder turns your scores and next test date into a weekly plan.
Last verified: college policies against each college's admissions site, October 29–October 30, 2026, with a sample (Carnegie Mellon, Georgetown, Illinois, Maryland, Princeton) re-checked November 5, 2026; score-sending rules against College Board, November 5, 2026. Policies can change each admission cycle.